Chunky Cinnamon Apple(sauce)

applesOh applesauce, the smell and taste remind me of childhood. My mom makes the best homemade apple sauce! I especially love applesauce when paired with a tasty pork chop. I go back and forth whether I really enjoy a smooth applesauce or prefer a more chunky applesauce. As I was preparing my menu for the week I decided it was time to test out the chunky style with our pork chops and to my delight it was almost as tasty as my mom’s applesauce, you can’t beat a mom’s love in her recipe.

Here’s what you’ll need:
8-10 apples (I used a combo of Fuji and Honeycrisp)
1 tsp Cinnamon or a cinnamon stick
4-6 thin lemon slices
1/4-1/3 cup organic apple cider
Dutch oven or a roasting dish

Instructions to chunky-town:
Preheat oven to 375
Peel, core, slice your apples into cube sized pieces
Slice your lemon into very thin slices
Place your apples, lemon slices, measured cinnamon & cider into your dutch oven or roasting dish
Cook for 40-45 minutes with lid or foil on
Once you have cooked it, you can choose your chunkiness style. I left mine as is but for leftovers the next day, I mashed it up to a smoother more sauce like consistency.

Leave a Reply

