Clarifying Butter, Butter is Good for You!

IMG_2858

In efforts to eat foods that are create minimal inflammation, keeping my dairy consumption low is important to me. I try to clarify my butter, which is simply cooking the milk out of the butter. I take my organic butter, place it in a saucepan on low heat, uncovered. I stir it and watch it melt, assist it when need be to make sure it is melting evenly. Once it has all melted, the milk foam rises to the top of the pan. I take a spoon and carefully remove the foamy white clouds. Once I get all the milk out, I pour it in a container and store in the refrigerator to have on hand conveniently for cooking. Voila!

Do not do this with margarine – why, you ask? Because we want to avoid margarine at all costs. It is a hydrogenated substance that is harmful and created chemically from refined polyunsaturated oils. BLAH! In other words, by eating margarine, you are slowly poisoning your body. Eating real butter is good. It is a natural substance and a healthy fat. We need fat to function properly, our brains run on fat, fat is good. If I haven’t convinced you yet on why real butter is amazing let me give you a few more reasons:

IMG_2860

-Contains anti-oxidants that protect against free radical damage
-Saturated fats in butter have strong anti-tumor and anti-cancer properties
-Butter has vitamin A which is easily absorbed to aid in thyroid and adrenal health
-It contains lecithin and lauric acid which help treat fungal issues and help metabolize cholesterol

Leave a Reply

