A Grateful Heart is a Full Heart

69031806757766134_dX0LIRYD_c

Practicing being grateful is a beautiful technique that allows you to see the world a little shinier. I try to always remember to tell people thank you or let people know how much I appreciate them either verbally, through a quick email or a hand written note. I think it not only is important for the person to hear or read that they are valued but it is a healthy heart exercise to keep us in the present moment and value what is now.

Another exercise I find to be powerful is writing a list of everything I’m grateful for every Friday morning. I have an alarm set to remind myself and I type out a list  of everything I’m thankful for that week and in the present moment. I love looking back and seeing my lists side by side to see how things keep getting better and better!

There are some really cool apps if you are into keeping track on your phone, you can download one that keeps track of the moments you are grateful for. This could be an easy way to get in the habit of documenting the small things in life that are blessings. You could check out – Gratitude Journal 365 or thankful which are both apps that track your gratitude.

Having a grateful heart and mind keeps you moving forward in a positive direction. Have you every been in a bummer of mood or something was weighing heavy on you and as soon as you noticed something positive or something that you really appreciated, your mental attitude shifted? It is possible to reteach our brains to think like this more often, how cool would it be to have it be your natural mind-set? So awesome! For example, driving to meet a friend for lunch and I hit every red light on the way, my old way of thinking would be, “Ugh, why am I hitting every red light, this is so annoying! I just want to be there already, I’m so aggravated,” when I now am able to enjoy whatever song is on the radio or whatever podcast is I’m listening to as I hit each light, I can also appreciate that perhaps I’m hitting each light because there is a perfect parking spot waiting for me when I get there. It may seem silly at first but after you practice being in the moment and being thankful for whatever it is that is going on, it is less frustrating or emotionally taxing.

I encourage you to practice daily gratitude whether you find it through journal writing, keeping a list in your phone or making an effort to let people know you are thankful once a day. Go forward and be great, celebrate today!

Leave a Reply

