Hello Strawberries & Rhubarb!

My recipe came from the Paleo Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble recipe from CrossFit Coastal but made a few adjustments to their recipe as I created my little masterpiece for my gal-pal Paleo dinner last Friday night!

Here’s the  Crumble-Yummble recipe with my changes –

Ingredients

  • 4 to 5 stalks rhubarb – chopped (about 2 Cups)
  • 2 C strawberries – cut into 1/4′s
  • 1 C nuts – chopped (original recipe calls for pecans but I used a mixture of pecans, almonds and walnuts)
  • 1 C shredded coconut (unsweetened)
  • 3 Tbsp coconut oil
  • zest of 1 lemon (I used zest of half of lemon)
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • honey drizzled (I added this towards the end of it baking and helped take a bit of the super-tart down a notch. Not necessary but a tasty add)

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 375F
  2. In a baking dish (about 9 x 9 or 9″ pie pan), spread out strawberries and rhubarb. Mix in the lemon juice and zest
  3. In a saucepan on low, melt the coconut oil.  Add coconut, then mix the chopped nuts to coconut & oil
  4. Spread the nut mixture evenly across the top of the strawberry/rhubarb, like a crust
  5. Bake for about 45 minutes (if you choose to add honey, I’d drizzle it over the top about 10-15 minutes before it’s finished)
  6. Forks-up!
Leave a Reply

