Chocomole aka Healthy Chocolate Pudding

Recipe:

2 ripe avocados
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup honey
2 tablespoon coconut oil
1 tsp vanilla extract

Melt the coconut oil, mix all together, whip it all up in a food processor, spoon into some small bowls (it’s very thick – as it should be..) The recipe suggests topping it with whipped coconut milk – but it’s really rich to begin with. When it has been refrigerated it seems to make it have a dark chocolate taste.  Next I will try freezing it in small-sized pieces.

– UPDATE –

I recently tried a few versions of this, also delightful. I used less honey then it asked for, maybe 1/3 cup and it was still mighty bombtastic in my mouth. Next, I tried adding coconut flakes, I liked it with the pudding cold but not in a frozen hard candy form. I tried a few drops of Almond Extract, also delish both pudding style & hard candy style.

When I say hard candy/froze, I just mean I put it in the freezer and then it turns to hard chocolate candy form. If you are going to do this, I would suggest using a pan or plastic tray and either smear the chocomole around so it’s an even layer so when it gets cold and hard you can then cut it into bites, or use little tiny cookie cutters for cute shapes or use a spoon for dollop sized pieces.
Next I’ll experiment with variations of almonds, walnuts, pistachios, sea salt sprinkles and raspberries. But not all mixed together…

Leave a Reply

