Big Kid Chicken Nuggets

As I was getting ready to prepare dinner, we had plans to be boring and grill chicken, however I had a hankering for something new. I saw this recipe for chicken nuggets the other week and couldn’t stop thinking about making them. I can’t say I miss fast food chicken nuggets but I do miss a tasty fried chicken nugget dipped in honey every now and again. These were very simple to make and extremely tasty on the ol’ buds and will send you to yumm-town. As usual I follow most of the directions in the recipe but not all of them. Here is the original recipe of the Cilantro Chicken Nuggets (which includes info on a dipping sauce) but I dipped in homemade guacamole this time.

My modified version of the recipe –

  • 1lb ground chicken or ground turkey – I used ground turkey this round because that is what I had
  • 1 egg, whisked
  • 1 cup or so of cilantro finely chopped
  • 3-4 green onions finely chopped
  • 2 teaspoons sesame oil
  • ½ cup Coconut flour or Almond flour or 1/4 and 1/4
  • Shaved fresh ginger or using a few shakes of powdered ginger is good too
  • 1-2 tablespoons Olive oil or Coconut oil 
  • Pinch of Sea Salt
Instructions
  1. Mixymix everything together: ground turkey, cilantro, egg, onions, sesame oil, ginger and salt.
  2. Warm pan and add the olive or coconut oil.
  3. Grab a plate or bowl and have your flour ready to dunk your nuggets on/in.
  4. Balltime. Grab a hunk of ground turkey mix, roll and flatten to nugget shape, dunk in the flour on each side and all around.
  5. Place nuggets in the pan, cook, cook, cook.
  6. Cook each side until cooked all the way through, about 8 minutes for me (my nuggets ended up being bigger than I planned)
  7. Choose a dipping sauce of your choice and eat away!  =)

These were great the next day too, I didn’t even need to heat them up. Score for lunch!

 

Leave a Reply

